I sat down to write this blog post and think about my writing experience in university so far, and I was surprised at how difficult I found it to consider and put into words the difference from high school to university and also the difference in the way I present my writing in other courses. I went back to a time in grade 12 (seems like a lifetime ago) when we had a blog assignment (I actually went to the website and found this blog) to see if I could pinpoint something that proved that I have evolved as a writer. Sure, I find that my sentence structure has changed a small amount, and I’m using “better” words to describe what I’m conveying to the reader, however that could just be due to the fact that I’m using a different sense of the language.

The use of the English language is unique in the sense that it can be used in many different senses. Simply considering how you would approach and communicate with your boss and comparing this language with such that you would use texting, or chatting with your friends.
texting-your-best-friend
While these two examples are apparent opposites, the idea can be broken down even further to comparing the writing projects a student must complete in each of his/her classes. For myself personally, I looked at the writing that I have done in ENG 109, to the writing that I have been asked to complete in MUSIC 110 – Music in Cultural Context. Since there hasn’t been many writing assignments, I specifically looked at the concert review that we were asked to submit and how my thought process went while going about writing this concert review differed from how I wrote papers in English class. I centered my principle topic around the forms of music and shaped my sentence structure around the elements of the concert that I attended and used musically based language to support my points, essentially using a form of the English language that I probably would not use in an English course.

While one student might not enjoy the constant switch in writing styles, and trying to figure out when to use them, I find that I love having the variety to express myself in different ways. Again, I can use the example of writing in music, very different from English – it is genuinely a language in itself – and an excellent way to portray emotion on a page. Can it be frustrating? Absolutely. But there is a great sense of accomplishment when you find the ideal words to use for a phrase, or the perfect arrangement of notes to create harmony.

I do feel as though I have learned numerous writing strategies in this class so far, specifically regarding the rhetorical analysis paper. Figuring out how to make sense of ethos, pathos and logos was something that I had zero idea how to do before, as well as simply making more connections throughout different papers. These new strategies are exciting to me, and I know that I’ll be able to use them all throughout university on a variety of courses that I chose to take, which I look forward to.

All this being said, I can’t lie and say that I haven’t been stressed. The demands of midterms, rehearsals and hours of practicing for studio have started to catch up to me and are taking a toll. Colds and the flu have always come fast and strong for me due to an incredibly weak immune system and trying to battle an illness while struggling to keep up with homework is not the easiest task. However, I have most definitely been loving university, through the many ups and the occasional down and I’m beyond exciting to see what else life has in store for me as I continue through this section of my life.

