Were now almost two months into my 1A term of university and it has been a very interesting experience so far. Getting used to the time schedule and how everything is graded has been difficult for me. Until recently, I had never realized how unprepared high school left me, and that I would actually miss high schools structure. For example, I miss having all of my classes one after the other starting at 8 am and ending at 2:20 pm everyday. I’ll admit, it is great to be able to sleep in each day being that English is my earliest class, but I often find my time management skills have mainly disappeared because of this. I used to be great at managing my time but now that I have a varying schedule each day, I tend to plan my time horribly and end up doing assignments last minute (like this one here…).

Image result for time management meme

As for the work load, I do not think that it is too bad. Because most of my classes have a large amount of people in them, I have mainly had exams and have had few written assignments. When it comes to written work, I have only had to do the assignments in this class and a few personal reflections in my career development class. Personally, I am not a big fan of written assignments and prefer exams since I consider myself an expert in procrastination and tend to spend 10 hours doing a 10 minute assignment. Other than the fact that these written assignments take forever to complete, I have enjoyed the writing I have done so far. A lot of the writing has been personal reflections and I find it interesting to write about events I haven’t thought about in years like some of the examples I used in my personal literacy narrative. The only thing I have had trouble with so far in respect to exams and assignments is the way they are graded. I am used to how lenient the teachers in high school marked and it was a shock to me when I realized how different university was going to be. Luckily, I don’t seem to be alone in this struggle which can be seen through my psych 101 classes first exam average being a 55%. Although I have had difficulty getting used to university, I can already see how it is changing me for the better. For example, two months of this class has taught me to be a stronger writer, specifically in respect to grammar and self editing, which will definitely help me throughout my post-secondary journey.

Image result for procrastination

Although it’s been fun so far, the one thing I am looking forward to in my courses is just passing them and moving on to the next term. I say this because the further into my post-secondary journey I go, the more I can focus on what I am interested in. Now I am not saying that I do not enjoy the classes I have now, and I am quite surprised with how much I actually enjoy this class considering I have never been a big fan of English class, but it would be nice to be able to just focus on classes that are mostly focused on what I want to do in the future. My plan is to do a double major in psychology and social development studies with the hope of becoming a child psychiatrist in the future so having to take classes like Italian this term and a photoshop class next term just to fill the breadth requirements really doesn’t help me. Although this post has been slightly on the negative side, my post-secondary journey has been fantastic so far and I only see it getting better.

