Here I am, more than halfway through my first semester of university. It’s been pretty crazy so far, I guess I’d say it’s like the roller coaster at Canada’s wonderland “The Fly”. It lasts about 20 seconds and 5 of those seconds you think you’re going to poop your pants. For those who know this ride, you’re probably thinking “What a wimp!”, because it’s supposed to be a kids ride. You see the key here is supposed to be. You see every time I ride that thing I kind of enjoy myself at the beginning, then when the drop comes… HOLD ON TIGHT. The last time I was so scared during that drop, I bit my boyfriend’s arm, you should have seen the picture they captured. Anyways this is how I feel about school right now.

fly-image-3

It started out very fun, I made a million new friends and best of all I’m getting used to speaking and writing in English. But now, I feel like I am stuck in the middle of that drop because things are getting tough. For some reason, I think I was in denial about how hard this experience would be. I have never studied so much.

For the most part, I’m not writing too much. I have been mostly focusing on doing research, to better understand the topics that I’m learning, and most of my midterms are multiple choice tests. In my Who are the Mennonites class, I am doing quite a bit of writing. Every week I have to write a reading response, which I had no idea even existed before I started that class. It seems to me that every time I write one, it’s better than the last which is reassuring, to say the least. In this class, I also have to complete an annotated bibliography and an essay on a site or event that I choose to visit. I’ll be honest, when I signed up for this class I was expecting it to be a bird course, and let me tell you its far from it.

preview-image-writting

I have definitely learned a lot through my courses so far, the most important being what I enjoy learning and what I do not enjoy learning. For instance, I have learned that I do not like sociology as much as I thought I would. On the other hand, I am completely invested in my SMF 101 class and I am learning something new every class, that I can even apply to my day to day life. It makes me question the preconceived notions I have. For example, that monogamy is actually a fairly new concept and that birth control was only legalized a little over 40 years ago.

53010944

I am now confident that I want to peruse a degree in SMF and I am simply focusing on finding my way and not so much about what exactly I want to do when I graduate.

I am looking forward to my new life as a university student. Even though I feel very overwhelmed with the amount of work I have to put in, I am enjoying myself. I can certainly say I have found a place here at the University, and that my hard work is always paying off.

