I was always told that high school would go by fast, and in a blink of an eye, it really did. Now that I’m here, half way through the first term… I have come to the realization that University will too, go by just as fast. It scares me a little to think this, because even now I still feel so young and vulnerable, expected to make all these big decisions on my future. I still really have no clue about what I want to do, is that so bad? It seems like every time I tell people this, it’s as if I’ve spoken a forbidden word. The thing is though, I feel like I’m really finding myself here, through the classes I’m taking and the friendships I’ve made, it sort of feels like its all coming together now. As for the work load, well, it’s different than high school. Those readings I have due for each class every single week definitely keep me on my toes. I’ll admit, that’s probably the one thing I’ve been slacking with the most. It’s so much information to take in within such little time, sometimes It’s overwhelming. It’s no surprise to me though, that I just into any writing assignment I receive with open arms and dedication. Writing has always been in my blood. Not literally, I mean, my parents weren’t writers or anything like that, but hypothetically. I’ve loved writing ever since I can remember, so it really feels like a huge part of me inside.

4d1

I’ve really been enjoying every single class I have been taking here at University, from English 109, to Speech Communication theories, and sociology. It’s weird though, because the only other class that requires me to write is speech communications. Honestly, I’m a little disappointed because writing is the one way I feel like I can truly communicate literally anything to my teachers and prove my knowledge. Sure, my sociology tests are obviously important, but I find myself rushing through every multiple choice question just waiting to finally get to the short answer section, because that’s where I feel like I can really prove myself and get the best marks. I’ve really found a connection between my speech communications theory class and this English class. Learning about the value of communication through writing, words, and language has really helped me understand the importance of writing. I’ve always loved writing for the reason that it helped me express things I felt that I couldn’t have the courage to say aloud.

beyonce

English 109 has really helped me in terms of peer editing. In high school, they never really made a big deal out of it, but I see that here in University, it’s something really important because it happens in most of my classes that involve any kind of writing assignment. This is why I could not be more thankful for all that I have learned in this class. Thanks to the depth we’ve gone into on learning how to peer edit properly, I no longer instantly search for grammar or punctuation errors in people’s assignments, and the same goes for when I’m editing my own work. I strongly believe that there will never ever be a writing style that I don’t enjoy. I’ve loved being able to show my teachers the way I use my words and all my thoughts and ideas. Throughout these past six weeks, I really do think my writing has improved. I’ve learned how to get straight to the point with my papers, how to critically asses others work in an effective manner so that its actually beneficial for them, and through the extensive and helpful comments from teachers, for the first time in a while, I feel as though I actually know how I can improve myself as a writer and communicate my ideas better.

i-see-the-lights

I’m excited to see what else I learn in the remainder of this first term of University. This will truly be, I believe, my most memorable term of all. I always thought University would be some big and scary place. I mean, sure, it’s definitely big and it can be scary at times, but it’s been an amazing journey so far and I’ve learned so much in the past few weeks. I know that this English class is preparing me for the years to come in University. I can’t wait to improve even more as a writer and discover what I’m truly capable of.

