I have always enjoyed reading and writing. My childhood home was full of books and my parents taught my younger sister and me the value of writing early on in our lives. Due to my background and family history I learnt how to read and write in both French and English, a skill that greatly impacted my writing. This became prevalent during my high school years. At my high school, essay writing was taught to us in a formula. You had your opening paragraph, 3 body paragraphs with evidence and then a conclusion. That was it. I found this method to be tedious and limiting, as I wanted to express my opinion to a further extent in my papers but I wasn’t given that opportunity.

morpheus-meme

Writing in French gave me the chance to express myself a bit more but it was still with limitations. I’m grateful that I’ve been able to practice on improving my writing skills in two languages as it’s given me a different perspective on types of writing. Anyways, graduating high school for me was the grand opening of the gates of heaven. I believed that soon in University I would be able to write in a different style and create more meaningful work.

My first year of University was at Laurentian University in Sudbury Ontario. I was extremely nervous for university and moving 500km away from home to a northern city that half my friends from Waterloo didn’t even know existed. Nonetheless, the experience of living on my own and being forced to act and think like a mature and responsible adult taught me so much, and for that I’m grateful. With the help of my professors, family and friends I was able to transition into a higher level of academia. Looking back at what I’ve accomplished and how my writing has improved from the level it was at last year is something I’m proud of. I hope to keep pushing myself and working on further improving my skills.

writing-an-essay-877

In our class I hope to learn how to be a better, more persuasive and well articulated writer who engages her readers and leaves them with a little more knowledge of whatever I write about. Nothing is worse than finishing a paper or article and then thinking, “What the heck was that about?” I want my readers to finish my paper or article and think to themselves, “Holy crap that was awesome.” I know what it’s like to read a bad paper. I’ve written bad papers at 1am. Rushing, editing and hoping that it’ll turn out to be okay. It obviously wasn’t, and I sincerely hope that I will never to be such an awful writer again. It takes a lot of bloody work but in the end handing in something that you’re proud of and that you know will resonate with your readers is so worth it.

Finally, starting the academic year in English 109 and having the chance to see what I might be capable of and what is in store for me is exciting. I am concerned on how I’ll manage my time for school, work, family and friends but I’m also eager to work hard at something I’m passionate about. Writing in different styles that I didn’t really have the chance to explore in high school is going to be challenging, but I know that if I put in hard work it’ll be so rewarding to see my self improvement at the end. The process of improving my writing has similar to a step-by-step guide, from A to B for example. It takes time, energy and perseverance but in the end its more than worth it.

creative-writing-final-meme

