High school essay writing was like riding a rollercoaster; I had my wild twists and loop-de-loops, and when it was finally over I was so grateful I threw up. I so vividly remember how each lesson on essay writing was nearly identical; to grab as many notes and cited works as you could and then write up to 4 drafts before submitting a final copy. Peer editing became less and less emphasized as the years passed, as it was simply our own responsibility to make sure our work was perfect, with or without help. In fact, it was like they would give us the tools but not really enforce them nor give enough time to. Papers, papers and more papers that would remind us, as students, to make sure you hand over your work to a classmate to have it looked over. And yet at the same time it was obvious the teacher wasn’t going to double check with each and every one of use to make sure we did as we were told. Maybe university will be the same. From the start it seems to repeatedly keep up with the idea that drafts are of the utmost importance – which I do agree with – and that while encouraged, peer editing is not as mandatory as it was in earlier school years. It’s like upgrading from the county fair to Canada’s Wonderland, with more opportunities and excitement yet still the same, simple reminder to keep hands and feet inside the ride at all times; you still see people not doing what they’re told, but the ride won’t stop just to be super sure they follow the rules.

Though, in my opinion, the writing in university is rather more intellectual and exciting than the high school essays and stories that debated the importance of a coloured scarf from a chapter long forgotten in a book no one would remember. Of course, I can’t deny that I did adore the creative writing I got to do in my final high school year. It was thrilling to write mini novel series about fictional and non-fictional worlds with characters that breathed life onto paper and with words that expressed the authenticity of  of the surroundings  that many could only wish to feel. However I found that educational matters and research were far too boring to enjoy. I found them far too tragic, since researching such issues ended up being more interesting than actually writing about them. Sure, learning about the issues in India were important and really opened my eyes. But writing about the matter in a format that only drugged readers like me into falling asleep and forgetting sentence after sentence? It really wasn’t something to look forward to, that’s for sure. Talk about a disappointing stick of wet cotton candy that looked better on the cardboard advertisement than in my hand. Maybe university will teach me how to write papers that are just as creative and detailed as my old stories and pieces; a way to draw in readers like a novel surrounded by mystery and wise, wise words. I want to be able to talk about both trivial and significant matters in a way that really ‘pops’ for the reader, something that really sticks to them day and night until they realize they want to bring about change or read a book or enter the same ‘amusement park’ university I did. But who knows; the term’s only just begun after all.

